Book Review: Cut and Run by Madeleine Urban and Abigail Roux

5199022Okay, so I am super late to the party but thank God I finally showed up!!! I received this book as a gift from my book-dealer to get me a new addiction, and now I’m hooked to the series. I finished the book in two days, and I’m totally jonesing for the next book!

The story starts out with a serial killer loose in New York City, who is doing rather extravagant murders. It’s a difficult case because there is no discerning pattern amongst the killings. The guy has no MO. No preference on who he kills. Nothing. The only way they know he’s a serial killer is because he leaves behind weird tokens, well that, and the fact two FBI agents were killed who were investigating the case. But in all honesty, you’ll most likely figure out who the killer is or at least have a really good guess after a couple chapters.

Figuring out who done it doesn’t detract from the story, at least not for me. The real charm of the book comes from the deliciously complicated relationship of the two main characters: Ty Grady and Zane Garrett. Special agents of the FBI, who take on a whole new meaning to opposites attract.

Ty is cocky, abrasive, and indisputably the best at what he does. But Zane is the perfect image of an agent: serious, sober, and focused, which makes their partnership a classic cliché: total opposites, good cop-bad cop, the odd couple.

And though this type of romance has been done a thousand times, Cut and Run kept it entertaining. The bickering, fighting, playful banter, and sexual tension between the agents were intoxicating. They were continuously at odds, making it extremely difficult for them to work together. There’s even an all-out brawl between them in an alley.  But even then you could sense the want they had for each other.  I found myself constantly wanting them to just kiss and make-up throughout the whole book. Could they put their differences and sexual desires aside and figure out the case? I mean, you did…but could they?

Should I go back to my room tonight?” Ty asked out of the blue. “Or will we be able to work together and fuck each other senseless at the same time?

My only criticism is that Ty and Zane have their fair share of close calls. I mean the killer is after them, resulting in explosions, car wrecks, gunshots, and other dangerous situations. And let me remind you of them beating the shit out of each other in the alley. There are a lot of injuries that occur from these events and although they were both tough, I really thought they should be in hospitals during parts of the story.

Overall, the book was a great read and I will be following the series closely. I highly recommend this series. Ty and Zane are like crack and you should give them a try. Come on, all the cool kids are doing it!

I’ve never made fun of you. Making fun of you would imply that something about you is fun.

5/5 stars

~Eddie

Buy: Amazon

Buy: B&N

Leave a Reply

