Book Review: All My Friends Are Dead by Avery Monsen and Jory John

10155216_10101700702994575_5550919188911807228_nLet me start off by saying that I’ve been rather busy down here in Brazil getting a job (not that any of you care that I’m a freeloader that reads books…nor should you…I’m just saying), so I haven’t had time to finish the romance novel I’ve been reading. However, as luck would have it, I received a cheer-me-up gift in the mail from a friend back in the states. In this thoughtful and wonderful care-package was this book. And flipping through it’s pages not only brightened my day, but re-sparked my creative juices. All My Friends Are Dead  has taken it’s rightful place on my bookshelf and in my heart.

I guess the easiest way to describe the book is that it’s like Everybody Poops only funnier and more morbid, like Everybody Dies.  From people, to trees, to mimes, everyone meets the inevitable. This books helps capture their thoughts on the matter. My personal favorite was the cassette tape, I mean, most people still remember what it was like to actually make a mixed tape. Actually, maybe the pirate is my favorite…yarr…or maybe the yetiThey’re all pretty awesome.

So if you need a pick-me-up, then pick-up (see what I did there) this book! The chuckles it brings are definitely worth the price. I think it’s only like $.99, so totally worth a buck.  It will make a nice edition to your kindle and you can read it in between the romance novels you’ve been reading that we recommended. I’m rambling and using a lot of words to make this review seem longer. You try coming up with a lesson plan to teach English to two Brazilian kids and see how much time you have in a week. I digress…  Also, there is another book too, called All My Friends Are Still Dead, which is an amazing sequel! You can check them both out at the link below:

No More Friends

I’ve already made two children cry today!

5/5 stars

~Eddie

Buy Amazon is Not Obsolete

Buy B&N is Very Much Alive

Buy Blimey! Amazon UK is My Friend

 

 

Leave a Reply

