Book Review: We Were Liars

16143347 I’m not sure if you’ve heard of this book yet, but I heard of the title quite a few months ago. But pretty much all I heard about it was that there was a ton of secrecy around the book. I requested it and got approved and the first thing in the book is a letter to the reader about how the secret in the book should stay secret and not be ruined for other readers. Of course I was intrigued and needed to know more.

But I don’t want to reveal anything to you because of the whole secrecy thing. It is kind of important to not know anything going into the reading of this book. So I’ll just try to vague-ish. First of all the narrator is unreliable, which is pretty apparent from the title..We Were Liars- and that includes the narrator. She reveals very early on that she has some sort of amnesia and spends most of the book trying to get people to tell her what happened to her before she lost her memory. I’m not a fan of unreliable narrators because I feel like most of my time reading is spent second guessing what I just read and thinking wait, what? This was definitely the case here.

The big reveal that came at the end of the book was not that surprising to me as I picked up on it about halfway to three quarters of the way through the book. But there was a twist within that reveal that did surprise me so there is that. I’ve heard rumblings of sobbing at the ending from other readers or reviewers but I don’t know if I’m devoid of emotion or what, it just didn’t do it for me.

What really didn’t do it for me was the writing style. It was choppy and stilted in many places. I think I just couldn’t get past that enough to get into the story and immerse myself into the mystery. For example:

His nose was dramatic, his mouth sweet. Skin deep brown, hair black and waving. Body wired with energy. Gat seemed spring-loaded. Like he was searching for something. He was contemplation and enthusiasm. Ambition and strong coffee. I could have looked at him forever.

Those short, choppy sentences populate the book and that distracted me from the actual plot.

Overall, this book was okay. The secret was interesting enough but I wish the writing itself had worked better for me!

ARC provided by publisher via Netgalley in return for an honest review.

3 Stars

~Melinda

Amazon

Amazon UK

B&N

One thought on “Book Review: We Were Liars

Leave a Reply

