Book Review: Only Love by Garrett Leigh

10155216_10101700702994575_5550919188911807228_nOkay, so I think I was just in a bad mood or dealing with long weeks, but I wasn’t 100% in love with this book like so many other. I kept comparing it to a Nicholas Sparks story and was expecting one of the main characters to drop dead at any minute. Plus, the main characters had so many issues, like seriously, issues…both mentally and physically.

First there is Jed. So Jed has a chronic stomach condition, he can’t really keep food down. Because of his illness, his time is the army is cut short. During his time in Iraq however, he lost several comrades, including his best friend who died in his arms, and suffered a leg injury. Oh, and he has PTSD. Of course he does. He probably also suffers from dandruff and restless leg syndrome.

Jed returns home, a place he hasn’t been back to for fourteen years. He stays with his estranged brother, Nick, and his family, which consists of his wife, Kim, and two girls. But guess what, Nick has issues too…alcoholism. Awesome. Well, Jed ends up moving out to a cabin to stay with Kim’s brother, Max.

Awe, Max. Max is great, sweet, caring, and an all-around great guy. But you guessed it, Max has epilepsy. Of course he does. But the real reason we love Max, is because of his service dog, Flo. Flo was by far my favorite character in the book. The dog was intuitive, smart, caring, sweet…I could have done with a whole book about Flo. Or if the book was told by Flo’s point of view.

Now that Max and Jed are independent, together?, their relationship slowly…slowly…grows. And it grows in a very predictable way. I’m Jed, I’m a tough guy who protects people and don’t want anyone taking care of me. I’m Max, I like to take care of people but don’t need protecting. Let’s fall in love with each other! Okay! Pretty soon, they realize their need for each other and the little things they do for each other builds, then we have our happy little gay love story.

Like I said earlier, I think I was just in a bad mood. So many people liked this book, but I just didn’t buy into it. I just kept wondering how all these dysfunctional people ended up in the same place. Poor Flo, was like the only normal…person? Maybe I shouldn’t have read so many good romance novels right away, now I have super high standards. Anyways, it’s a good book if you like Sparks but don’t want all the death. I am giving it 3 stars, because my foul mood prevented me from being bias, especially towards damaged war heroes looking for love amoungst the seizures. I’m not a nice person.

He said exactly what he thought or nothing at all.

3/5 stars

~Eddie

Buy Amazon

Buy B&N

Buy Amazon UK

Leave a Reply

