Book Review: Take Me On by Katie McGarry

18333898 When West Young stumbles across Haley’s path they are both extremely down on their luck. West has been kicked out of his house, with nowhere to go and Haley has sworn she will never fight, professionally or otherwise again. Unfortunately for the former champion kickboxer that night she chooses to fight in order to save West from having to fight her own demons. While West comes from an incredibly rich family and Haley’s family is very down on its’ luck right now – they both find themselves in virtually the same place, almost homeless, at the same school and fighting the same people. When their lives become even more intertwined Haley takes on the task of training West for an upcoming fight. She tries hard to resist the sparks that fly immediately between her and West but it’s almost irresistible.

We’ve seen West previously in Crash Into You as the careless brother. He had emotional depth but it was a little one sided and seen mainly from his sister’s point of view. Now, in Take Me On we get to see how his sister, Rachel’s, accident actually affected him. The character development he has from the last book to this book and through to the end is exactly why I love Katie McGarry’s books. She managed to take a character who is seen as a spoiled brat who doesn’t care about much and transform him enough so that he is lovable to both the reader and the characters. I definitely would not have guessed that either at the end of Crash Into You or at the beginning of this book. He goes through hell in this book which explains much of his development.

The characters in this book seem to be the most real to me out of all of the authors’ Pushing the Limits 4 books so far. They are dealing with not having enough food, with being to cold to sleep through the night and how to afford to get into college and get out of a horrible family situation. Haley is a great heroine in this book, she has had so much to deal with and it’s easy to see why she is so resistant to let anyone into her life, including West.

I’m a sucker for seeing a man who knows he’s in love and I love watching West realize he’s not only attracted to Haley but in love with her. Of course it’s not that easy and there is way more going on in the book and Haley has a lot going on that makes it not so easy for her to fall in love with West.

I’m in love with you. I’m in love with you and I don’t know how to make you feel better. I’m in love with you and I shouldn’t be. I’m in love with you and once you figure out who I am, you’re not going to love me. I’m in love with you and I seem to fuck up the ones who love me back.

I’ve loved every book that Katie McGarry has written and this is no different. Haley is a kick-ass heroine and may be my favorite since she is SO kick-ass. Oh, and I love Abby. So. Freaking. Much. She is so weird. And rude. And yes, she is a drug dealer but if anyone can made a heroine out of that it’s so Katie McGarry! Please?

ARC provided by the publisher via Netgally in return for an honest review.

5 Stars

~Melinda

Amazon

Amazon UK

B&N

Leave a Reply

