Blogger Blackout: My First Kindle

In the fall of 2010, Amazon introduced its third generation, the Kindle Keyboard. The price was $189 for the version with wifi & 3G. Previous models of the Kindle ranged from $359-399.
I had only a casual interest in the Kindle previously. It wasn’t because I was obsessed with print books. It was more of sticker shock. $400 for a Kindle and I still had to buy books to put on that Kindle? No thank you.
However, when the K3, aka the Kindle Keyboard, was announced, there was much buzz throughout the Internet. I slowly became entranced by what I heard. I had never shopped at Amazon at that time. Once I heard about their 30 day return policy, I felt that I had nothing to lose.
On September 17, 2010, the magical day arrived. My Kindle was being delivered to me at work. It was love at first sight. I was awed by the size. I was amazed by the charity of the screen. I was astonished that such a little device could hold so many books.
Needless to say that my love affair of the Kindle has not ended. I now read almost exclusively in digital. I own entire backlists of authors that I love, such as Nalini Singh, Meljean Brook, and Lisa Kleypas.
Since I didn’t know anyone who owned a Kindle in real life, I went to Amazon Kindle’s Facebook page so that I colts share my love for it. At this page, I have many friends, including Melinda, who blogs with me.
I currently own the first generation Paperwhite. I adore the built-in light. However, my first love will forever be the K3.

~Vi

Leave a Reply

