Book Review: The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

18812405 I hate to start off the year with a negative review but…I am. Can’t help it, I finished this book just last night and was so irritated I knew I had to write a review today. This is a book that has had good word of mouth and I’ve heard quite a few people talking about it and saying it was a good thriller. While I mostly read romance I also love thrillers, young adult, new adult, women’s lit, pretty much every genre there is. Which is great because generally if it’s a good book I will read it and enjoy it.

I went into this book not knowing what it was about. Just that it was a thriller and I’d heard some comparisons to Gone Girl so I thought I’d give it a try. My library luckily had a copy so I just got on the hold list – I LOVE my library FYI. It’s where I get a huge portion of my books that I read. This story is about the kidnapping of Mia Dennett, the daughter of a prominent judge. There are 3 alternating point of view – Eve, Mia’s mother; Gabe, the detective in charge of Mia’s case; and Colin, the kidnapper. The POV switches didn’t bother me at all and actually made the story more interesting to me. I really liked the addition of Colin’s points of view as I think that it adds a lot to the story and it also made it stand out from other dual POV books.

The basic plot of The Good Girl was decent and that kept me reading the full book. However my main complaint was that the overall pacing of the book was S-L-O-W. The book took place over a few months and I felt every one of those months. Gabe’s point of view was particularly boring to me and I was left wondering why his was even included. It seemed that we could have gotten all the information if it had just been included in Eve’s perspective. Colin’s story was the most interesting because that is where we got the gist of the kidnapping and I realized that I was pretty much skimming over the other perspectives to get to Gabe’s.

Overall, I did finish the book and thought the ending was unexpected. But it felt way, way too long to get there.

2 Stars

~Melinda

Amazon

Amazon UK

B&N

Leave a Reply

