Review: Never, Never by Colleen Hoover & Tarryn FIsher

23383567 Okay, I was so excited for this book because I’ve loved all of Colleen Hoover’s other book except for one (Ugly Love). I assumed that was just a fluke and it wasn’t to my taste but then I read this book. I was incredibly disappointed from the very beginning and I’m still mad about it a week later. In fact the more I thought about the book the more I disliked it so I downgraded it a half star!

First of all the book is very short – only 140 pages. I didn’t even look when I ordered it so I was very surprised by the length. I finished it in a little over an hour. Now on the plus side it is priced at $2.99 so I should have guessed it would be short but to me it felt almost like a novella short.

It starts with 2 teenagers – Charlie and Silas – waking up in school and not having a clue who they were and not recognizing anything or anyone in their lives. They quickly realize they are boyfriend and girlfriend and start to try to figure out their lives. They come to find out that their parents each hate their significant others and that while Silas comes from a rich family, Charlie’s family is very poor to the point of not having much to eat.

My issues with the book started right there with them not saying anything to anyone about what’s going on. What teenage would experience this and not go to the nurse or tell someone else? I know suspension of disbelief is important and usually I can go with just about anything but this seemed weird to me. One of the things that I didn’t like about this was the characters. As things develop I expected to have an attachment to someone because usually that’s how it works. For me this never happened – both characters were very unlikable. Now I’ve read books with unlikable characters and didn’t have an issue like with Gone Girl but in this case I’m pretty sure the reader is supposed to *like* them.

But my biggest problem with the book is the ending. It’s a HUGE cliffhanger. I’ve read and understood cliffhangers with some other books but this seemed completely unnecessary!! I mentioned it’s only 140 pages so in my mind I don’t understand why it needed another book. I felt like I was getting only the beginning of the story, almost like a prequel. I read a post from Colleen Hoover that said they felt there was too much story to put in one book but when the book is so short I don’t get how that can be true??

I’m giving it 2.5 stars because I couldn’t get past any of these issues. Other people seem to be loving the book with a few exceptions so I feel pretty alone with this viewpoint but I can’t help how I feel about the book. I definitely will not be reading the next one that looks to be coming out in May.

2.5 Stars

~Melinda

Amazon

Amazon UK

B&N

Leave a Reply

