Serving Pleasure by Alisha Rai

25626041 Hungry for a touch…

Rana Malik is over being her family’s resident black sheep. She’s on a mission: ditch the casual hook-ups, revamp her bad-girl image, and fall in love with a proper Mr. Right even her conservative mama can’t find fault with. Not on the menu? The beautiful, brooding Mr. Right Now who lives next door, and all the ways he whets her appetite.

Starving for love…

Artist Micah Hale had it all–women, success, friends and family–until his world changed in a single act of senseless violence. Now struggling to conceal his scars and get his life and career back on track, he knows he has nothing to offer a woman except his body. He’s not looking for love…but he can’t control his craving for the sexy bombshell voyeur he’s caught looking at him.

Just one bite.

Their attraction boils over, and their defenses are stripped off along with their clothes. They promise they’ll walk away if it gets too hot. But it’s hard to do the right thing…when being wrong feels so good.

I think we need more diversity in romance but not just diversity to have diversity, good romances with diverse characters with great stories. I requested this ARC because it was written by Alisha Rai, I didn’t read the synopsis or really do anything before I started reading so I was pleasantly surprised when I did. The first and foremost thing about this book that I liked is just the overall package. I loved that there was diversity in the characters and it didn’t feel like it was something that was added just to have diversity in the book.

This book has so much to offer, not the least of which is really hot sex scenes between the MC’s. The chemistry between Rana and Micah really seemed to leap off the page from almost their first interaction. I enjoyed that sizzling chemistry that was so hard for both of them to resist. But what I loved more than anything else about this book is Rana. I love a strong female character and Rana is one of the strongest sex positive women I can remember. She enjoys sex almost unapologetically. The small part of her that is apologetic about sex is just the cultural and familial parts tugging at her, which is not hard to understand, even in 2015.

Rana is so independently minded and tends toward laughter and light while Micah is intense and serious for good reason. The mix of these together is pretty combustible. I really loved how this book dealt with both Rana and Micah’s issues and how they dealt with each other.

ARC received in return for an honest review.

4.5 Stars.

~Melinda

Amazon

B&N

One thought on “Serving Pleasure by Alisha Rai

  1. Really enjoyed your take or this book, I’m VERY curious, I don’t know this author and I gotta say, from the plot I’m not sure I would have even given it a try. I totally agree with you about the diversity. There are too many books out there that are practically the same or has the same concept to them. Yeah, it romance, and you know two people, trying to get together, some obstacles then – HEA. But there is much more to be had from a GREAT writer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

