Blubber by Judy Blume

 

 

4115OHUOxgL._SX338_BO1,204,203,200_

Blubber is a thick layer of fat that lies under the skin and over the muscles of whales …When Linda innocently reads out her class project, everyone finds it funny. Linda can’t help it if she’s fat, but what starts as a joke leads to a sustained and cruel ritual of humiliation. Jill knows she should defend Linda, but at first she’s too scared. When she eventually stands up to the bullies, she becomes their next victim – and what’s worse, Linda is now on their side

Today we are going old school. I wanted to re-read some of Judy Blume’s books and this was one of my favorites of hers. I grew up with Judy’s books and they became a large part of my childhood. I could relate to most of what she wrote and I always looked forward to a new Judy Blume book.

I read this in 5th grade I think and I could relate in some part to Linda in this book. I was overweight and had bucked teeth so I had a double whammy against me. This book does show how cruel kids are and how the dynamics of popularity change quickly. Girls are bigger bullies I think, more so than boys can be.

Adults who read this and who find this book appalling and lacking any redeeming qualities has either forgotten what elementary school was like or have never been on the receiving end of a bully’s tyranny. School in the 70’s, when this was written and when I was in elementary school, was a lot different than it is now. The bullying in Blubber seems in a way tamer compared to the bullying that goes on now a days…. I’m not belittling bullying, as I was on the receiving end of it and it stopped when I finally fought back. But when you think of social media and cyber bullying that goes on now bullying is on a much wider scale that draws more people into the fray and puts more pressure on the victims

This book, as in most Judy Blume books, deals with issues that are in a way timeless. First love and sex to body image, divorce, acceptance and even bullying. All things that today’s kids can still identify with. Is the writing style dated, yes, is it sometimes hokey, yes, but it’s written on the level that kids of that age can understand. Judy Blume has been able to capture the moment in young girls lives that most adults forget about as time goes by. If you do read her books don’t do it through the eyes of an adult, do it through the eyes of a child.

4/5 stars

Crash

 

Buy: Amazon

Buy: B&N

Buy: Amazon UK

One thought on “Blubber by Judy Blume

  1. Nope. I can’t read that. I wouldn’t have.. I mean, I was also bullied, A LOT and I don’t think I would want to read about it today. I was a child of the 80s so I guess I understand what you are saying now. but I have to say that what made my life better was starting to connect with people that are into a certain hobby and even though they were living far away from me, being able to be friends with them, even if my life at school sicked big time was SUCH a positive thing for me. so considering the media today and the groups you can be a part of now, yeah the media CAN be horrible, but it can also be a great rescue.

Leave a Reply

