Sacked by Jen Frederick

sacked-400x592 Knox Masters is a quarterback’s worst nightmare. Warrior. Champion. And…virgin. Knox knows what he wants–and he gets it. All American Football player? Check. NFL pros scouting him? Check. Now, he’s set his sight on two things. The national title. And Ellie Campbell. Sure, she’s the sister of his fellow teammate, but that’s not going to stop him. Especially not when he’s convinced Ellie is the one.

…but he’s never met her before.

But Ellie isn’t as sure. She’s trying to start a new life and she’s not interested in a relationship…with anyone. Beside it’s not just her cardinal rule of never dating her brother’s teammates that keeps her away, but Ellie has a dark secret that would jeopardize everything Knox is pursuing.

Knox has no intention of losing. Ellie has no intention of giving in.

I’m a big fan of Jen Frederick’s The Woodlands series. It’s a New Adult series with strong friendships and men who generally don’t treat women like crap. I just got finished listening to The Charlotte Chronicles on audio – which is a spin off from The Woodlands – recently too so it’s been a month heavy on this author for me! I was really excited to hear about this book because it’s also New Adult and kind of in the same vein as Elle Kennedy and Kristen Callihan’s sports NA books, which, in my opinion, is a really awesome comparison.

Somehow all of these authors have made me a fan of books with sports in them. I never thought that was possible since I am not a fan of them at all in real life. But in these books I’m loving them. Knox Masters is somewhat perfect in this and that is both good and bad. I really enjoyed the parts where he lost his cool for one reason or another. Whether it was with the guys or because he wasn’t able to get Ellie to fall for him immediately it just made him seem more human.

One of my favorite things with all of these books and something that this author does really well is banter. Both with the guys on the team, between Know and his twin brother and also between Ellie and Knox.

“If I was a chick, I’d date you, Masters. I’ve seen your dick. It’s good,” Hammer assures me.
“Fuck that. It’s not the size of the wand. It’s the wizard using it,” Daryl Nunn, our nose tackle, pipes up. He, like Potter, wears a pair of black glasses when not on the field.
“Not according to Voldemort.”
Hammer’s retort generates a sharp bark of laughter from me, but poor Jesse looks confused. Hammer sighs. “Voldemort wanted this certain wand, but only Harry could use it.”

I really enjoyed Ellie the most of all the characters. She was strong and didn’t want anything to do with Knox, not that that lasted long. But I appreciated the sentiment. I liked that she thought him being a virgin was bull and called him on it, out loud, and often. And, of course, I loved that she loved to read. The main issue with this book was just that the football aspect was a little too heavy for me in that I didn’t know what was going on sometimes since I’m clueless with sports. It just played a little too much of a feature in the book but I don’t think that most people would have this issue.

waiting

ARC received in return for an honest review.

4 Stars

Melinda

3 thoughts on “Sacked by Jen Frederick

  1. Sounds good! Is this a stand alone novel? I’ve never read book by Jen before. I love Elle Kennedy’s Off-Campus series but I gotta say I didn’t like the first in Kristen Callihan’s NA series. The characters felt immature. I, too, am NOT interested in sports in real life but I DO like reading about it in novels. I think it’s also different in my country because we don’t really have this concept of college groups that then continue to being professional. It’s just something students do for fun and isn’t THAT important or a real part of the college experience. It’s like a side hobby for someone majoring in a totally different thing.

    • It’s a stand alone. Just a warning – I loved it but this seems to be a very much love it or hate it book. I’ve noticed that some people seemed to think it was insta-love on Knox’s part (which it kind of was) but he had to work for it and it wasn’t insta-love for both of them and she proved herself unknowingly a few times so it worked for me.

Leave a Reply

