The Fifteenth Minute by Sarina Bowen

26720038 I’m severely behind on my reviews because life has gotten in the way once again so I’m going to get caught up with my favorite reads of the last month! First up is The Fifteenth Minute. I’ve read everything Sarina Bowen has published and I will read everything she ever publishes because I love the way she writes so much. I highly recommend you try out her stuff because I find it works so well for so many people. This is the 5th book in The Ivy Years series but it can be read as a stand alone. Personally I like this series better when you read it in order because people from earlier books make fun appearances that can only be best appreciated when you’ve read the previous books.

Summary: Freshman Lianne Challice is known to millions of fans as Princess Vindi. But sometimes a silver screen sorceress just wants to hang up her wand, tell her manager to shove it, and become a normal college student. Too bad that’s harder than it looks.

She’s never lived a normal life. She hasn’t been to school since kindergarten. And getting close to anyone is just too risky — the last boy she kissed sold the story to a British tabloid.

But she can’t resist trying to get close to Daniel “DJ” Trevi, the hot, broody guy who spins tunes for hockey games in the arena. Something’s haunting his dark eyes, and she needs to know more.

DJ’s genius is for expressing the mood of the crowd with a ten second song snippet. With just a click and a fade, he can spread hope, pathos or elation among six thousand screaming fans.

Too bad his college career is about to experience the same quick fade-out as one of his songs. He can’t get close to Lianne, and he can’t tell her why. And the fact that she seems to like him at all? Incredible.

I loved this book so much and it may be my favorite book in the series. I can’t decide but I know that Lianne is definitely my favorite character! She’s a strong female but she’s also hilarious and awkward, unaware of how to behave in certain situations. Even though she’s this amazing movie star that people expect to be able to handle all situations Lianne has been very sheltered, spending her whole life on movie sets. DJ, the hero, is having an extremely rough year and the two have an intense attraction but he’s hesitant to draw her into his complicated life right now.

One of the things I loved about Lianne is that she’s also pretty nerdy – playing video games and losing herself in them. She’s super cute with how proud she is of how adept she is at these games and some of my favorite parts of this book is when she’s showing of her skills to the guys. A big aspect of this book is music because DJ is a deejay for the hockey games and seeing Lianne get so into the music and getting to do the music herself for a game and picking which songs go with different plays is wonderful.

This is how it feels to get just what you need when you didn’t even know you needed it.

This book is sweet, funny, tugs at your heart but is also pretty hot. The romance heat between the two is great and Sarina does an amazing job at building that up throughout the book. Overall, I loved this book, loved both characters and would highly recommend it!

5 Stars

ARC received in return for an honest review.

~Melinda

Amazon

B&N

4 thoughts on “The Fifteenth Minute by Sarina Bowen

  1. Sarina is a favorite of mine as well 🙂 I’ve also read everything that she published and plan on stalking her with everything new she publishes. I can’t say what was my absolute favorite in the series was though.. I’ll have to seriously think about it. The first was SO special it seems it SHOULD get the best vote, but I’m not sure.. I also loved both Lianne and Daniel (I don’t like “DJ” 😛 ) What he was dealing with was very difficult and I could understand all his struggles. Lianne was sweet, I liked that she was so genuine.
    I never move on to the next book if I haven’t written the review yet because the next book will probably confuse me, I’ll be all about it and less about what I’m suppose to review. So it’s a “law” for me that I’m not allowed to read before reviewing. Sometimes I review a book at night or in the morning just so I won’t be restricted to more forward hehe But usually once I get going with a review it flows. Even if I start not knowing how to express myself.

Leave a Reply

