Q&A with Misty Evans

I have been thinking about doing Q&A’s with authors and approached Misty Evans about taking part and she graciously agreed.

 

Crash: Misty can I say how thrilled I am that you have agreed to take part in my first author Q&A! The first books of yours I read were the Kali Sweet books and I have been hooked ever since.  I am secretly holding out that one day you will write more to that series lol. Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to take part in this Q&A.

ME: Chris! Thank you for inviting me. I’m excited to be here and hang out with one of my favorite readers! It’s an honor to be the first to do an interview on your blog.

And yes, I’m working on another Kali Sweet book! Romantic Suspense is my bread and butter, and with two kids in college, I have to work in the genre that pays the bills. Urban fantasy has been on the downhill for a few years now, so Kali doesn’t get as much time as I’d like during my normal workweeks. I miss her! She’s such a kick-ass character.

Crash: I Miss Kali as well and am glad she will make a comeback!  

Crash: How long have you been a writer?

ME: I’ve been writing since 4th grade when I won 2nd place in a school contest with an essay about my dad. It was published in the local paper and I’ve been writing off and on ever since. LOL. When I graduated from college, I entered the business world and spent 10 years there before having twins and becoming a stay-at-home mom. Then the writing bug hit again. ☺

Crash: What made you become a writer?

ME: 9/11. I’d always dreamed of being an author and suddenly realized tomorrow wasn’t a given. If I was going to do it, I had to set real goals and carve out time to take writing classes, plot stories, and put my fingers on the keyboard.

Crash: You have written in a few different genres, which is your favorite?

ME: I get that question a lot, and I have to say, I love them all. I wouldn’t write in a genre I didn’t love with all my heart. Each one has its good points and allows me to use my very active imagination. Take Kali Sweet, for instance. I get to channel my inner demon in order to writer her. It’s better than therapy!

Crash: In your Shadow Force International and Southern California series there seems to be a lot of research done on your part. Just how much time do you spend researching and how do you find out most of your information?

ME: Research is half the fun with any of my books, but the RS books definitely require a lot. I easily spend an hour or more everyday when working on those books, researching everything from gang tattoos to how to make a car bomb. I’m blessed to have real world contacts too – people who’ve been in the world of law enforcement and spies. ER nurses who can advise me about gunshot wounds, etc. Readers are savvy these days from shows like CSI and NCIS so it’s important that my facts are accurate as well as dramatic.

Crash: Again with regards to the series in Q4, do you base some of these stories on real life events?

ME: Ideas for plots are everywhere, and fact is often stranger than fiction, as the saying goes. I don’t listen to the news or read newspapers, but on occasion when researching, I stumble across an idea or character that spawns an entire story

Crash: What kind of books do you read?

ME: Everything! Fiction and nonfiction both. My TBR pile on my ereader and my bedside table grows all the time.

Crash: What gives you joy in your everyday life?

ME: Family, friends, coffee and yoga. ☺ I’m a registered yoga teacher and have many interests outside of writing. Some days, it’s crazy-making, juggling my schedule, but bottom line, I love everything I do and all the people I meet, online and in-person.

Crash: Misty it was wonderful to learn more about you.  Thank you for your time and I look forward to your next book, I think that will be in November is that correct?

ME: Yes! The next SCVC Taskforce series novel, Deadly Attraction, releases November 7th. This one features Mitch Holden and Dr. Emma Collins, a forensic psychiatrist who needs protection when a criminal she testified against escapes prison and comes after her.

Thank you for having me today, Chris! Always fun to chat with you, and I appreciate your support of my books. Take care and happy reading!

 

Leave a Reply

