New Year reading resolution.

I was never any good at New Year resolutions. My diet attempts failed miserably within a few days and never mind getting into shape. The only shape I resemble is  round in my belly. I know, I should take better care of myself now that an unmentionable milestone birthday isn’t that far off but I will hold my hands up and admit I lack willpower.

I will try to make a resolution that I can stick to, or at least will have more success with, and that is a reading resolution.

While I have a vast  amount of unread books glaring at me from my Kindle,  I have an incredible urge to reread some old favorites and some series. I feel guilty putting new books on the back burner to visit some old friends that I haven’t read in 10 or more years. I also have the first 7 books of the Outlander series I bought a few years ago in a bundle on sale that has been languishing on my kindle unread.  I also have had The Tale of Genji on my shelf, as well as on my kindle, for 10 years now and have still not read it.  It’s daunting at just under 1300 pages and a character list that is about 5 pages long.  I keep telling myself this year will be the year I finally get to it….. let’s hope that 2017 is the year it gets read!

I also feel a twinge of guilt when reading older books and review them for this blog. I know a lot of people read book blogs to get reviews on the latest books. So this will be something else I will try to deal with in 2017. That isn’t to say I won’t be reviewing new books, I will, but some old ones might be making an appearance here. Who knows, you might discover some older books that you never heard of before.  Fair warning, I loved fantasy and sci-fi books growing up so those will be popping up on here.

Reading should be a joy, something to treasure, and so I want to rediscover the joy of some older books this year. I hope you come along for the discovery with me.

Wishing all of you a very happy New Year!

Crash

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

