Six Four by Hideo Yokoyama

imageFor five days in January 1989, the parents of a seven-year-old Tokyo schoolgirl sat and listened to the demands of their daughter’s kidnapper. They would never learn his identity. They would never see their daughter again.

For the fourteen years that followed, the Japanese public listened to the police’s apologies. They would never forget the botched investigation that became known as ‘Six Four’. They would never forgive the authorities their failure.

For one week in late 2002, the press officer attached to the police department in question confronted an anomaly in the case. He could never imagine what he would uncover. He would never have looked if he’d known what he would find.

I have to admit I love Japanese thrillers but sadly this one didn’t cut it for me.  I gave up at about 18%. It’s a book that you really have to pay attention to.  I tried skimming over the less interesting parts but soon realised that you can’t really do that with this particular story.  The writer knows the workings of police procedures in Japan and goes into a lot of detail.  For me that is the problem, there is just too much detail.  It’s not the kind of detail that keeps you interested but more of the kind that bogs you down.  It makes for very slow, dull  reading.  I know that there is a story in there somewhere it’s just having the patience to get to it.  What I did read gave you crumbs when you wanted a bite.  It didn’t give me enough to get into the story or to get hooked on the characters.

I don’t mind a slow book, one that demands time and attention, but in saying that I do want a plot that gives you something to dive into and get lost in.  Six Four didn’t do that for me.  Too much detail and not enough story line strong enough to hold me was the downfall for me.  Maybe if I read this a few years ago when I had the patience to wade through this kind of book I would have managed to finish it, but time has taught me to not be afraid to put aside books that just don’t do it for me.

ARC received by Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Did Not Finish

Crash

Buy: Amazon

Buy: Amazon UK

One thought on “Six Four by Hideo Yokoyama

  1. I was just thinking about how less patient people get “nowadays”, I look at myself naturally and if I see a book that is over 400 pages I mostly pass it. If a book is too slow or I don’t connect with it – I let it go. I’m sure I wouldn’t have been able to keep up with this book as well with those little details. I’m not good with thrillers as it is (I would NEVER find the killer in a REAL thriller that’s for sure! hehe)

Leave a Reply

